2017 Wrap-Up

IMG_0940 copy

What an exciting year 2017 was! I successfully blogged for the entire year, which may be the first New Year’s Resolution I’ve ever kept. I have so enjoyed documenting my travels and creating travel guides. This year was busy and exciting, filled with lots of traveling! Here is a re-cap of all my adventures as well as a look at what is to come in 2018.

Baltimore – Annapolis – Washington D.C.

I started the year off with a trip out east, with the single goal of eating as much Maryland Blue Crab as I possibly could. I love the East Coast, and Maryland did not disappoint. Baltimore is an incredibly fun city, from the Inner Harbor to the history lessons. Annapolis is relaxed and eye-catching. Washington D.C. is our capital, filled with historic landmarks and museums. On this trip I learned how much I love crab cakes, and that I need to return to D.C. as soon as possible.

IMG_1079IMG_1106IMG_0816IMG_1030

Read More: How I Spent 4 Hours in Washington D.C.
Read More: 13 Pictures That Will Make You Want To Travel To Baltimore, Maryland
Read More: Great Food In Maryland

Michigan’s Upper Peninsula

I absolutely love the UP. It’s serenity is unparalleled, and I am always happy when I’m near water. I actually came twice this summer, from exploring the small town of DeTour Village to hiking in Tahquamenon Falls State Park.

Photo May 11, 5 25 20 PMIMG_1913IMG_2656

Read More: Hiking in Tahquamenon Falls State Park
Read More: How To Spend A Long Weekend In DeTour Village, Michigan

Colorado

To say I visited Colorado is an understatement. I explored every corner of this state and packed in as much as I could in eight weeks. What an incredible way to spend the summer and catch up with family.

IMG_0444IMG_0825FullSizeRender 6FullSizeRender 6 copy

Read More: Hiking in Colorado’s Staunton State Park
Read More: Hiking to Elk Falls
Read More: Visiting the Paint Mines of Colorado
Read More: Garden of the Gods
Read More: A Collection of Short Hikes in Colorado
Read More: The Road to ElDorado Canyon

National Parks

I had never been to a National Park before this summer, and now I have five crossed off my list! They are spectacular, and Arches National Park in Utah was my favorite trip of the entire year. Utah is breath-taking, unlike anything I’ve ever seen.

IMG_1060IMG_1331IMG_1388IMG_1608IMG_2040

Read More: Alluring Arches National Park
Read More: Colorful Canyonlands National Park
Read More: Beautiful Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park
Read More: Gleaming Great Sand Dunes National Park
Read More: 13 Pictures to Inspire You to Visit Rocky Mountain National Park

Florida

I was born a beach bum, and what better place that sunny Florida to relax after midterms? Not only did I get to relax on the beach in Daytona Beach, but I also explored the history of the oldest city in America – St. Augustine! Florida is a diverse state with so much to offer, and I was glad to get a mix of relaxation and travel.

IMG_3901IMG_3900DSCF8086

Read More: 15 Photos to Inspire a Trip to Daytona Beach
Read More: Your Guide to a Weekend in Daytona Beach
Read More: Discovering the History at St Augustine

Indiana

And of course I spent time in my home state, from the Dunes to Indianapolis to Evansville, I hit just about every corner of the state. It’s important to spend a significant amount of time exploring our back yards. I still have plenty of state parks and small towns to explore here.

IMG_3646FullSizeRender 6DSCF8205IMG_4976

Read More: Making a Splash with Canoe Evansville
Read More: Hiking at Brown County State Park
Read More: The Ultimate Muncie Food Guide
Read More: The Top 10 Reasons to Visit the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore
Read More: A Weekend Getaway in French Lick, Indiana

 

2018 Travel Plans

It’s hard to believe how many places I’ve been this year and all the experiences I’ve had.  Every time I travel I am reminded of why I love it, and I realize how there are so many more places to go.

As for 2018, I have some sensational travel plans coming up this year. While in 2017 I only traveled in the U.S., this year I’m taking advantage of more international travel. This spring I’m jetting off to Italy to enjoy pizza and gelato as well as immerse myself in ancient history. I also have plans to return to Michigan and a few other states. I hope to hike through a few more national parks and state parks across the country. As well, I’m planning to embark on a Central American trip. It’s time for me to explore a few Latin American countries I’ve always wanted to visit. From beaches to rainforests and bustling cities, it’s going to be a summer to remember.

As for the rest of the year? Only time will tell. Happy New Year, and here’s to a spectacular 2018 filled with lots of love, adventure and curiosity. I’m wishing each and every one of you my very best.

IMG_0998

Posted in: USA

Leave a comment