The definition of καιροσ (kairos)

DSCF7339

Merriam-Webster dictionary defines kairos as “a time when conditions are right for the accomplishment of a crucial action :  the opportune and decisive moment.”

It is a Greek word, derived from the root “kara” which means head, and which Bible Hub claims refers to the phrase “coming to a head,” or to take advantage of. Well, it seems to me that in life there are so many opportunities ahead of us, but often times it’s easy to feel like it just isn’t the right time to take action.

It’s not the right time to move far away from home. It’s not the right time to start working out. It’s not the right time to write a book. Etc. There are an infinite number of goals we have, and along with that comes an infinite number of excuses to put off reaching those goals for a later date.

Well, what if I told you enough? Enough waiting, enough excuses. If you have a goal, it’s time to accomplish it. The opportune moment is now, and if you wait it will pass you by. My goal is to travel. I want to see the world. I want to ask questions and uncover things about myself I didn’t know, and meet people who have had very different experiences than I have had.

But I’m just a college student, how can I do all of the things I want to do? I’m supposed to be getting an education.

Euripides said this: “Experience, travel – these are as education in themselves.”

Now is the time to go. Now is the time to do.

Here you will find updates of my many “kairoi” as I head out into the world and experience all I can. What is your goal? Why haven’t you made it happen yet? And what proactive steps are you going to take to set it into action?

All my best,

Kate

Leave a Reply

